Friday, 30 December 2011

visible light / the sun



traditional 35mm film. as yet unprinted.
data: visible light / surface temperature in thousands of degrees centigrade

Saturday, 24 December 2011

Thursday, 24 November 2011

modern love


Link


this lovely magazine/book arrived yesterday. it's from dayfour, and it's about 'modern love'. my angle was the often misunderstood 'one parent family'. as well as including some fine photographers, it opens with one of my favourite lyrics, stephin merritt's (the magnetic fields) 'the book of love' and closes with pushkin's impossibly beautiful 'when i enfold your waist, my dove'...

Wednesday, 19 October 2011

Carr Gomm Portraits






A small selection of my portraits commissioned by The Carr Gomm Society who provide support and housing for, amongst others, the homeless, lonely and mentally ill members of the community.

Wednesday, 14 September 2011

the sorrowful mysteries


taken from a series produced from the contents of the home of a former priest. one half of his house was filled with religious material, the other half with pornography.
16mm cine film and 35mm transparency. no photoshop.

Monday, 5 September 2011

Monday, 1 August 2011

Tuesday, 19 July 2011

ju dou


special thanks to my friend, martin, for discovering the source of these chinese characters which i randomly etched into this negative years ago. the picture now has a completely new meaning for me.

Monday, 18 July 2011

Thursday, 14 July 2011

roves and roams




Roves and Roams, stimulating development, extending knowledge of and providing access to contemporary art.

Sunday, 10 July 2011

barefoot


single edition fibre print. 17.5 x 26.5 image on 24 x 30 cm paper.

Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Wednesday, 1 June 2011

wreath


small toned print from 35mm film. barbed wire and flowers.

Sunday, 29 May 2011

dedham


And wander with a wandering star,
The wandering heart of things that are ...

Friday, 27 May 2011

white hotel


from a set commissioned for paperback of dm thomas' 'white hotel' ages ago ...
this version was my favourite but the version used was slightly 'cleaner'.

Wednesday, 25 May 2011

ampersand magazine


nice little australian magazine featuring the show bill henson curated last year and 'memory'.
available at harrods, selfridges, serpentine gallery, etc.

Saturday, 14 May 2011

clean version


better version of something from before. small R-type from cine film.

Friday, 13 May 2011

hazchem


small detail from a mixed media piece that later became a sort of blueprint for 'custody'.
'hazchem'. 17.75 inches by 22 inches. R-type print, wood, glass, enamel, pencil, tape.

Friday, 6 May 2011

whiteloupe


a nice little featurette on my work on this excellent photography blog based in texas.
many other photographers there, some great alternative processes and ideas ...

Thursday, 17 March 2011

oxidation


been working on a new edition of this...
20 x 16 R-type from 35mm cine film. tape. fungus. oxidation. debris.

Friday, 25 February 2011

day 5





life began when a star, in its dying stage, exploded ... our bodies are stars.
the final day saw this 'star' become a locked container.... as we all are, just containers of accumulated memories, regrets, yearnings... a loose meditation on childhood, growth, decay, remembering, forgetting, wishing ... all stitched loosely together with images of children in autumn who--like falling stars and windfall apples-- burst with life and light all too briefly...