Friday, 30 November 2007

Fundacion Privada Sorigue

'Womb', a very personal and important photograph for me, has now joined the permanent collection of Fundacion Sorigue in Spain. Their contemporary art museum in Lleida is part of the wonderful Sorigue Group whose teaching and caring projects include scholarships, housing, support and assistance for the mentally and physically handicapped.

Monday, 26 November 2007

Tuesday, 20 November 2007

dazzle camouflage

Language confuses and conceals as much as it explains. I was thinking about the contradictory term ‘dazzle camouflage’ when putting together images for The Camera Suture in June. Today, I found a scrap of paper in a coat pocket, something I’d scribbled down back then but forgot about and never used....

“Dazzle camouflage (aka ‘razzle dazzle’) was a camouflage paint scheme used on ships. An unlikely form of camouflage, drawing attention to the target rather than hiding it but its purpose was not to conceal the ship but to make it difficult for an enemy sub to clock it and destroy it. Its purpose was confusion, rather than concealment.”

Dazzle patterns were usually designed by women.

Monday, 19 November 2007

laFada samples 'cast'

this interpretation of 'broken wrist' was sent to me recently by Lafada in Italy.

Monday, 12 November 2007

Art Volume with Amy Denes

Most of the weekend was spent in email conversation (therapy?) with Chicago artist and writer, Amy Denes, the results of which are memorialised here in her fascinating and interactive blog.

Monday, 5 November 2007

release these pigeons

i love the time-worn, distressed quality of this tatty bit of cine film. great crop. lovely, evocative text. i wish i could tap into this same sort of feeling in my work.

Tuesday, 23 October 2007

Friday, 19 October 2007

fire in the doll's house

from new project: 'fire in the doll's house'. twenty new photographs, drawings and text.

Thursday, 18 October 2007

you promised

large scale projection : suitable for houses of parliament, royal courts of justice, churches, schools.... anywhere promises and hearts are broken.

Saturday, 13 October 2007

ZOO Art Fair (cont'd)

these photographs are now also being exhibited at ZOO. The show ends Monday 5 pm.

Thursday, 11 October 2007


These photographs have been selected for exhibit at the Saatchi stand in the 2007 Zoo Art Fair, Friday to Monday, Royal Academy of Art, London.

Friday, 5 October 2007

Tuesday, 25 September 2007

Sunday, 16 September 2007

Friday, 14 September 2007